A week of Vegan – Recipe Roundup – WE Feb 15 2014

Time for another round up! I was spoiled this week and was able to eat out twice 🙂

Did you try any of the recipes from last weeks roundup?

reciperound

Sunday Night

Insanely Quick Creamy Chickpea/Coconut Curry by VegWeb.com

This recipe has been a long favourite in our home. It’s pretty easy and quick to throw together, maybe not “insanely” quick, but definitely insanely delicious!

Recipe Notes: Sometimes I use a teaspoon of dried cilantro leaves if I don’t have any fresh handy. I often leave out the tomato, but that’s just my preference. If you don’t have a roasted sweet potato on hand (which would make this recipe time-consuming) you can puncture a sweet potato a few times and throw it in the microwave for about 3-4 minutes.

Monday Night

Black-eyed Pea Chili with Quinoa and Corn by blog.FatFreeVegan.com

I know what you’re thinking…isn’t this a repeat from last week? It sure is! We enjoyed it so much that we couldn’t wait to have it again!

Recipe Notes: This time I used black beans in place of the black eyed peas and I added in some chopped up carrots at sautéing step. End result – Still super yummy and satisfying. My parents enjoyed this with us and found themselves forgetting that there was no meat in this (they are not vegan).

Tuesday Night

M & M Meat Shops – Veggie Burger

Okay so not a recipe, but these are one of our favourite Veggie burgers. I know it seems strange to purchase these from a store that has “Meat Shop” in the name, but the ingredients are plant based and they are really yummy. I should mention that the manufacturer does have an allergy caution that these may contain traces of egg, milk and seafood and on.

We enjoyed these with a side of steamed vegetables and spinach salad.

Wednesday Night

Spaghetti with Spinach and Garlic by simplycooking.wordpress.com

On Wednesday we were tired and looking for something quick to throw together, this fit the bill perfectly. The garlicky oil and spinach was delicious with the pasta.

Recipe Notes: We sprinkled a little coarse sea salt over it when seasoning to make up for the missing parmesan cheese. If you want to take this even further, you can try this recipe from Oh She Glows for a parmesan replacement. (Scroll down in the link quite a bit to find recipe)

Thursday Night

Jumbo Chickpea Pancake by ohsheglows.com

I am in love with this recipe! The chickpea pancake is filling and delicious, and oh that cashew cream …drool…

Recipe Notes: You can buy chickpea or Garbanzo flour in most health food stores. Personally I like to make the flour using my Vitamix’s dry grains container. I make a cup of flour at a time, I found that anymore would take too long and heat up/cook the chickpea flour a bit. I have made this following the recipe and by going my own way, using spinach or chard in the batter. It always comes out delicious!

Friday Night

Chu Chai in Montreal – Valentine’s Day Menu

chuchaiFriday night was a nice surprise, my husband took me out to favourite Vegan restaurant in Montreal. Chu Chai is a delicious Vegan restaurant that prepares various Thai dishes using mock meats. I’m drooling as I type this just thinking about going back.

Saturday Night

No pictures, just a dinner out with friends. We enjoyed some mini samosa’s, salad and chickpeas 🙂

Do you have a recipe that I should try? Please leave a comment below or email me at myprettydistractions@gmail.com

Have a yummy week!

Amandainmtl

2 thoughts on “A week of Vegan – Recipe Roundup – WE Feb 15 2014

  1. I just made the chili and it is delicious! Next time I’ll make it with a little more quinoa, but otherwise the recipe is perfect. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

